China Fleet and West Cornwall win President's Trophy Semis

Monday 25th February 2019

President's Trophy Semi Finals Sunday 25th February 2019

West Cornwall gained some consolation yesterday on the day their CTC team suffered a narrow defeat as their President’s Trophy 9 man team reached the final of the 2018-19 competition for the second year running, with a 6.5 - 2.5 win over Perranporth at Newquay GC.  In the final - at Newquay on Sunday 17th March 2019 - they will face China Fleet who just prevailed over Bowood Park at Bude & N Cornwall GC.

West Cornwall won 5 of the 9 singles matches outright and halved three more. The wins were recorded by Charl van Niekerk, Andre Otto, Graham Webster, Ian Hodge and Richard Bunch whilst Mark Ecles, Rod Hnadyside and Andy Postans gained the halves. Perranporth’s solitary win was registered by Ian McKechnie, whilst their half points were achieved through Chris Dennis, Lee Dalton and Kirk Razzell.

Up at Bude it took two extra holes to resolve things between Bowood Park and China Fleet after the match finished 4.5-4.5.

China Fleet took the first three singles through Darren Saggers (4&3 over Martin Tilley), Martin Cleave (4&3 over Duncan Wright) and Ian Apps (1 up on Richard Putt) before Bowood fought back with wins for Chris Simmons (4&3 over Paul Forse) and Fergus Lessels (7&6 over Matt Mackay) with game 6 halved between Bowood’s Ryan Cathrae and Scott Summerfield .  For Bowood Davey Tilley beat Lee Kingdom by the odd hole after China Fleet’s Matt Fox had despatched Jon Rowe 5&4. With the final match going the way of Simon Hobbs against Cameron Kenworthy (2 up) the scores were tied at 4.5 each. It was the same two players who were nominated for the play-off and this time round Kenworthy earned the bragging rights after Hobbs went long with his second into the green and was unable to get up and down.